Last Day

I’ve hardly posted while studying for REG.  I’ve been doing nothing but working and studying.  I’m ignoring people and I know I’m looking rude.  I don’t care, I just need to pass.

So, tomorrow is the day.  I had this idea that I could master everything, or then later memorize all the important concepts and lists.  But whenever I thought I had something down or memorized, by the time I came back to it, it had faded.  I don’t know if my memory is that bad or if I expect too much.  Steven advised me to not memorize too much, and I know he’s right.  Why did I think I could?

Yesterday, I was at work and I was showing a guy, who is studying for his 2nd exam, all of my notecards.  He said, “wow, we do go about this differently.  I focus on doing MCQs more than anything.”  And I realized he was right and I was certainly making a mistake.  Because for the first two exams, I relied mainly on MCQs.  I did do some memorizing and note-taking, and worked the sims more than once, but I’m pretty sure it was the MCQs that mostly contributed to my passing scores.

So last night and today, I’ve been doing nothing but MCQs online.  My scores are good.  I’m still not entirely happy with the way the questions are selected randomly for sample tests.  It seems like I’m doing a lot of repeat questions.  I’m torn between doing “Bookmarked” questions (the ones I’ve gotten wrong at least once) and just choosing “All.”  I found that if I choose 17, I get one from each of the 17 modules.  I’ve been doing sets of 20 questions, and alternating with “All” questions and “Bookmarked” questions.  My average is 89% which is great.  But I hope I’ve been given enough variety.  They sure seem easier than the first time around and the second (review) round.  I guess that’s good.

So, that’s how it’s been going.  My exam is at 11:30AM tomorrow (Saturday).  My eating schedule will be off.  I’ll have to eat my last food/meal at 10:00 so I can leave around 10:30.  It’s only a half-hour drive, but they’d gotten me in early for the other two exams, so that would be fine.  Better than late!

No caffeine this time.  I quit a few weeks ago.  Not great timing in the middle of a study session, but I found it wasn’t doing me any good.  I was so tired every evening and couldn’t get up in the morning.  That’s gotten a bit better.

All that’s left for me to do is to go online and go through the sample tutorial and get my IDs and NTS ready.  And I guess I’m ready.  Yikes!

 

 

Leave a comment